Restaurant Review: Vien Dong

It’s me again! I’m avoiding scraping the fence today, but since I am an excellent reviewer of things I hate and things I like, I thought I’d sit down tell you kids about my new scary/favorite restaurant instead. I’ve been wanting to write up a review of Vien Dong ever since we ate there the first time, and not just because it has the word “Dong” in the name. Okay, well maybe a little bit because of that. But mostly because I want my Spokane friends to know about it. Let’s get to it, shall we?

The first time we went, my old man picked me up during the lunch hour because I was going batshit crazy in the house and he’s a good husband like that. He wanted to check out some development properties in a crappy part of town (East Sprague), and I was along for the ride, wanting to see some cracked out hookers. We even got out and walked around. I was hoping to get mistaken for a hooker, but no luck. I guess Mitch would be paying for my meal on this day.

We passed a busy looking Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant and if there’s one thing living overseas has taught me, never pass up an Asian restaurant. Vien Dong looked a little shabby and run down, but it turned out to be delicious and cheap, with massive portion sizes. In other words, made for me. I had a giant plate of shrimp, chicken, and veggies. When I say giant, I mean, at least half the food was still on the plate when I was finished eating. Mitch had some stuff with other stuff on it and I think some sauce? Crack restaurant reviewer, amiright?

springrolls

The decor is hideous, pink and forest green paint, tables and chairs from a bygone era, and lighting from a shock treatment waiting room from the 60s,  but if you’re looking for better-than-good, cheap Asian eats, Vien Dong is your place. We went again the other night. This is when we discovered they don’t serve booze, but you could probably borrow a sip from someone’s paper bag out on the street if you’re desperate.

Total cost for two of us plus beautifully hand-rolled spring rolls was around $20. We sat by the window so I might catch a hooker sighting, but alas, there was no free entertainment to be had. Boo.

Anyway, Vien DONG: RECOMMENDED!

Website

1730 E Sprague Ave

Spokane, WA 99202

509-536-6073

Hours:

Tuesday thru Saturday

10:00 to 8:00

Sunday 10:00 to 7:00

Closed Monday

 

Leave a Reply

